Earth’s Seven Continents – Basic Info

What are the “Seven Summits?”
The world has seven continents, each with its highest mountain peak.
Popular sport is for climbers to try and climb all seven summits, which are known as the Seven Sisters. To reach the top of any of these is a huge achievement.
Continent Mountain Feet Meters
Asia Mt. Everest 29,035 8,850
South America Aconcagua 22,841 6,962
North America Denali 20,320 6,194
Africa Mt. Kilimanjaro 19,563 5,963
Europe Mt. Elbrus 18,481 5,633
Australia Puncak Jaya 16,502 5,030
Antarctica Vinson Massif 16,066 4,897
The continental Seven Summits are well known because of the popular challenge to conquer them all, but the world’s highest peaks—those that reach 8,000+ meters (over 26,000 feet)—are all found in the Eastern Hemisphere, in the Himalayan and the Karakoram mountain ranges of Nepal and Pakistan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s